Combat Cards


A Balancing Fantasy? by docboffin
8 +00002007-02-02T12:12:10+00:00282007bUTCFri, 02 Feb 2007 12:12:10 +0000 2006, 12:12 pm
Filed under: Balancing, Doc Boffin, Game Design

After thinking about balancing the scenario where one player has all of all the 2 turn fantasy combos and the other has all of the 2 turn horror combos, I started thinking about the more common scenario when each player has 2 out of 3 of the combos available, rather than all 3. Normally once a player has 2 out of 3 combos they will stop trying to draw the 3rd combo and just alternate between the combos they have.

This case initially seems more complex as the scissors-paper-stone relationship means that pairs of cards with be good against some opponent pairs and bad against others, but there are only 3 combinations of 2 cards, so I only had to work out how each pair fared against the 3 pairs in the other set: 9 sets of results.

I started with Redeswire Rip and Couture’s Cosh Vs Dragon Swipe and Demonic Spear:

High	Redeswire Rip    18	 8	Dragon Swipe 	Mid
Mid    	Couture's Cosh   15   	14   	Dragon Swipe   	Mid
High 	Redeswire Rip     0	12    	Demonic Spear  	Low
Mid	Couture's Cosh   15    	 6	Demonic Spear  	Low

Here the horror deck is more powerful, doing 6 DPT vs 5 DPT for fantasy.

I began listing out all the other combinations and then noticed that I was repeating myself. There were identical lines in the results. As I was going to divide the whole thing by the number of results anyway I decided to skip the duplicates and divide by a smaller number at the end. Once I’d removed the duplicates I ended up with 9 combinations:

High	Redeswire Rip    18	 8      Dragon Swipe    Mid
High	Redeswire Rip     0	12      Demonic Spear   Low
High	Redeswire Rip    18   	10      Tiger Pounce    High
Mid	Couture's Cosh   15     14      Dragon Swipe    Mid
Mid	Couture's Cosh   15    	 6     	Demonic Spear   Low
Mid  	Couture's Cosh    0     10     	Tiger Pounce    High
Low     Sick Sumo Slap	  0     14      Dragon Swipe    Mid
Low     Sick Sumo Slap   12     12      Demonic Spear   Low
Low     Sick Sumo Slap   12  	 4      Tiger Pounce    High

I was pleasantly surprised to see that on average, both sets balance at 5 DPT just like in the 3 card scenario, until I realised that I’m just comparing each card in 1 set with each card in the other, just as I was doing with the 3 card scenario. By balancing the 3 simple card scenario equations I had balanced the 2 card scenario which I thought I had to work out result by result!

Next I started thinking about the 1 card scenario (each player has a 2 turn combo) but listing all the combinations in that scenario would produce the same table as above. By balancing the 3 card scenario I had balanced the 2 and 1 card scenarios which initially seem more complicated!

Sound reasonable? If so, it’s a balancing fantasy 😀

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

